• TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Award

    The Executive of the Year Award is now an Association Level Award.


TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Award

The Executive of the Year Award was a PIMA Division level award and as of 2016 has now been elevated to an Association Level Award. It is traditionally presented to senior-level executives in the pulp, paper, or converting industries for excellence in management and outstanding contributions to the industry as a whole.

Nominations are due by August 1 of each year for the award to be presented the following calendar year.   

Nomination Form (PDF Download)

 2018 TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Winner

sutton montagueTAPPI is pleased to announce that Mark S. Sutton has been named winner of the esteemed TAPPI/PIMA Executive of the Year Award. Mr. Sutton is Chairman of the International Paper Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer.  Mr. Sutton was selected by the TAPPI/PIMA Nominating Committee for his ability to make tough decisions and stay focused on core products while maintaining a safe and successful company. Additionally, the Nominating Committee was impressed by his community and industry service. 

Learn More 

 Previous Winners

    1966 Frederick S. Crysler, Container Corporation of America
    1967 Howard W. Morgan, Weyerhaeuser Company
    1968 George H. Pringel, The Mead Corporation
    1969 Paul S. Baldwin, Scott Paper Company
    1970 William R. Adams, St. Regis Paper Company
    1971 P.H. Glatfelter III, P.H. Glatfelter Company
    1972 J.W. McSwiney, The Mead Corporation
    1973 William Beckett, Beckett Paper Company
    1974 Karl Bendetsen, Champion International Corp.
    1975 John H. Rich, Garden State Paper Company
    1976 Alexander Calder, Jr., Union Camp Corp.
    1977 Alvin J. Huss, Champion International Corp.
    1978 Lyman A. Beeman, Sr., Finch, Pruyn & Co., Inc.
    1979 Harold H. Holden, Gilman Paper Company
    1980 Ward H. Harrison, Howard Paper Mills, Inc.
    1981 Henry W. Fales, Paper Industry Consultant
    1982 Karl Guest, Stone Container Corporation
    1983 Harold Zigmund, Blandin Paper Company
    1984 Jack E. Chinn, Madison Paper Industries
    1985 Brenton S. Halsey &, Robert C. Williams, James River Corporation
    1986 George W. Mead, Consolidated Papers, Inc.
    1987 Phillip E. Lippincott, Scott Paper Company  
    1988 George S. Petty, Repap Enterprises Corp., Inc.
    1989 Judson Hannigan, Champion International Corp.
    1990 Frank A. Dottori, Tembec, Inc.

    1991 Roger W. Stone, Stone Container Corporation

    1992 Irene W. Meister, American Paper Institute

    1993 Richard J. Carota, Finch, Pruyn & Co., Inc.

    1994 R. Eugene Cartledge, Union Camp Corporation


        1995 Arnold M. Nemirow, Bowater Incorporated
        1996 Roland Cyrenne, Kruger Inc.
        1997 Patrick F. Brennan, Consolidated Papers Inc.
        1998 Leroy J. "Roy" Barry, Madison Paper Industries
        1999 A.D. "Pete" Correll, Georgia-Pacific Corporation
        2000 Robert C. Buchanan, Fox Valley Corporation
        2001 John Dillon, International Paper
        2002 William B. Howes, Inland Paperboard and Packaging
        2003 John Luke, Mead Westvaco
        2004 James McGinnity, Fox River Fiber Company
        2005 L. Pendleton Siegel, Potlatch Corp.
        2006 Steven R. Rogel, Weyerhaeuser
        2007 Keith Van Scotter, Lincoln Paper & Tissue
        2008 Raymond Royer, Domtar
        2009 Mark Gardner, SAPPI
        2010 Bob Snyder, Orchids Paper
        2011 Mike Jackson, Verso Paper
        2012 Jim Rubright, RockTenn Company
        2013 George F. Martin, NewPage
        2014 Russell P. Wanke, Expera Specialty Solutions
        2015 James Hannan, Georgia Pacific  

        2016 David Scheible, Graphic Packaging

        2017 Mark W. Kowlzan, Packaging Corporation of America

        2018 Mark Sutton, International Paper